by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics




by The Republic of Abarri. . 46 reads.


--------A B A R R I--------

The incumbent president of Abarri is Ramón Aznar (left). The current jefe de legislación is Martín Suarez (right).


The Legislative Assembly convenes in the Ambarri Legislative Palace (Palacio Legislativo de Ambarri) at the capital city.

Organizational Chart

The President

The head of state is the president who is elected by the one-house parliament, the Legislative Assembly (Asamblea Legislativa), to a five-year term. The head of the state can serve up to two consecutive terms. The president’s powers are limited to signing laws, calling parliament into session, and approving political appointments. The head of state may also ask the supreme court to decide whether a bill passed by the Legislative Assembly is constitutional.

The Jefe de Legislación

The jefe de legislación serves as the actual head of the government of Abarri. The head of the government is appointed by the president, who chooses one of the members of the Legislative Assembly. The appointment must receive the majority vote (at least 60%) of the members of the parliament. In turn, the jefe de legislación selects the cabinet members. If the appointment fails to get the majority vote, the members of the parliament must elect one of them to become the jefe de legislación. Up to four nominees are allowed, and the recipient of the most votes wins the position. A power of the jefe de legislación is to dissolve the parliament anytime. The parliament can also dismiss the head of the government with a majority vote.


The Legislative Assembly (Asamblea Legislativa) makes Abarri’s laws. The people elect the 175 members to five-year terms by the system of proportional representation. The population of each county (condado) determines the number of members it may elect. Abarrian voters cast ballots for parties instead of individuals. The number of members each party has in the Legislative Assembly is based on the proportion of votes the party receives in national elections.

The Courts

The Supreme Court is the highest court in the country. It is composed of a chief justice and eight associate justices appointed for life by the president. It rules only in cases that are appealed from lower courts. Lower courts include district and magistrates’ courts.

Local Government

Abarri is divided into 20 counties (condados) and 6 independent cities. Each county is administered by a representative, who is appointed by the president every four years for an indefinite number of terms. Each county has a council whose members are elected by the people every four years. The independent cities—Ambarri, Remedios, Pesarres, Uraneta, Ajacra, and Saraio—are self-governing, with locally-elected councils administering them.


Abarri currently has four active political parties. The two most powerful groups are the center-right Democratic Party of Abarri (Partido Democratico de Ábarri) and the left-wing Abarrian Liberal Party (Partido Liberal Abarriano). The others are the right-wing Abarrian Nationalists’ Party (Partido de los Nacionalistas Abarrianos) and the Green Abarri Party (Verdes de Ábarri), which promotes social consciousness and environmental responsibility. All qualified citizens aged 20 and up may vote.

The Republic of Abarri