by Max Barry

Latest Forum Topics




by The Constitutional Republic of Urran. . 19 reads.

Law Enforcement in Urran

Law Enforcement in Urran

Law Enforcement in the Constitutional Republic of Urran is divided into several levels: Federal, Prefectural, and Municipal. All agencies function semi-independently from one another.

Federal Agencies

The Urranese Federal Government maintains several different law enforcement agencies responsible for enforcing law at the federal level. These agencies have nationwide jurisdiction, though they are limited to investigating matters that are within the power of the federal government.

Republic of Urran Coast Guard:

The Urranese Coast Guard is a federal maritime law enforcement branch. Its duties include enforcement of both Urranese and international maritime law, border enforcement, counter terrorism, marine safety, combating drug trafficking, and aids to navigation. Members of the Coast Guard can be temporarily deputized by other federal and prefctural agencies. As a multi-mission service, the Coast Guard's missions are not limited to law enforcement and also include military and environmental protection operations. It is noted that, as a military service, the Coast Guard is assigned to the Ministry of Defense, unlike other branches on this list, which fall under the Ministry of Justice.

Federal Investigation Bureau:

The Federal Investigation Bureau is an intelligence and security agency, the primary of function of which is to protect Urran from internal threats. The primary functions of the Bureau include combating corruption at all levels of government, combating white collar and major financial crimes, protecting Urran from cyber attacks and combating cyber crimes. The Bureau often operates in tandem with other federal, as well as prefectural and local law enforcement units and agencies.

Republic of Urran Federal Police Agency:

As the largest of the Urranese federal law enforcement agencies, sans the Coast Guard, the Federal Police have a mission load to match. The Federal Police are responsible for borders, immigration, and customs enforcement, the transport of those within the federal prison or court system, the security of government buildings, monuments, and transportation hubs, such as airports, protecting Parliament, the investigation and combating of especially violent crimes and criminal organizations, counterintelligence operations, and counter-terrorism. Other roles include the protection of the Prime Minister and foreign dignitaries, investigating, prosecuting crimes involving the illegal possession and use of firearms, explosives, and drugs, and hostage rescue. The Fed. Police force can also be deployed to deal with internal security affairs, such as riots.

Republic of Urran Forestry Service Law Enforcement Division:

Urran has many national parks and large swaths of wilderness that are protected and administered by the federal government. The Urranese Forestry Service is the second of the two federal police branches that serve both prefercturial and federal functions, the first being the Coast Guard. Its primary function is law enforcement on government lands, including national parks and other national monuments. The branch is also responsible for inland search and rescue, combating forest fires, and other environmental protection roles, including combating poaching.


In the Republic of Urran, prefectural police are a police body unique to each prefecture, having prefecture wide authority to conduct law enforcement activities and criminal investigations. In general, they perform functions outside the jurisdiction of the sub-prefectural law enforcement bodies, such as enforcing traffic laws on prefecture highways and expressways, overseeing the security of the prefecture capitol complex, protecting the governor, training new officers for local police forces too small to operate an academy and providing technological and scientific services. They support local police and help to coordinate multi-jurisdictional task force activity in serious or complicated cases in those prefectures that grant full police powers.

Municipal and Local

Municipal police range from one-officer or two-officer agencies in small towns to the 42,000 person-strong Sakura City Metropolitan Police Department. Most municipal agencies take the form (Municipality Name) Police Department. Most municipalities have their own police departments. Occasionally especially small groups of villages and towns will share an agency of a few officers. They perform all traditional police duties.